Jesse Jagz: Biography, Education, Career, Marriage, Net worth, Controversies and More



Jesse Garba Abaga (popularly known as Jesse Jagz or Jago) was born to Chris(a pastor) and Lydia(a gospel artist) on August 10, 1984. He is 38 years old as at 2022.

Jesse is an indigene of Taraba State but grew up in Jos, Plateau State where he was born.

He is a Nigerian rapper, songwriter, singer and sound producer. He joined his church’s choir at seven where he learnt how to play the drums. 

Jesse is the brother of another talented Nigerian rapper, MI.

His style of music combines hip-hop and reggae but slightly incorporated various elements of other genres into it.

Many music lovers liken him to Kanye West for his musical dexterity.

He uses a variety of instruments, auto-tunes, and echoes in his music.


He attended Baptist High School, Jos.

He reportedly attended a university studying Law but dropped out in his fourth year to focus on his music career.


In 2003, he joined the short-lived musical ensemble “Gospel Insanity” to record an unreleased album. He started the band “Eleven Thirty “a year later; they were successful locally before breaking up in 2006.

in 2006, He released his first hit single “Africa” under the stage name Jesse Jag. The singles top several music charts on local radio stations in northern Nigeria.


He has a daughter -Jade Abaga, with his ex-label mate, Ruby Gyang.

In 2020, Jesse married his girlfriend, Tolu, at a wedding ceremony held in Jos, Plateau state, as reported by an online source.

Net worth

An online source reported that Jesse Jagz net worth in 2022 is estimated to be around $1 Million – $3,5 Million 


Jagz attributed his departure from the Chocolate City to his dissatisfaction with the way the label was handling his career but has maintained a cordial relationship with his former label mates, 

Jesse Jagz announced his departure from Chocolate City. In 2012, he went on to launch his own music outfit, Jagz Nation. He later claimed it was just a business movedismissing the rumours that he had a beef with the label.

An online source reported that Chocolate City had accused Jesse of being a marijuana addict and owing the record label a lot of money. 

Jesse was reported to have said he sees nothing wrong with the use of marijuana. He said, “‘I do not see anything wrong with weed; just the same way I do not see anything wrong with money or women. I just think anything done in excess is bad. However, if I have never married before, I cannot say anything about marriage whether it is right or wrong. It is about someone else’s life.

He returned to the record label in 2015.

Jago released an EP, Garba in 2020. He named it after his traditional surname.


He released his debut single “Africa,” in 2006 which catapulted him to popularity and allowed him to spend months at the top of the Cool FM chart.

His debut studio album Jag of All Tradez in 2010 produced different hit singles such as “Wetin Dey”, “Pump It Up”, “Jesse Swag”, “Sugar Cane Baby” and “Bend Down Low” which recorded huge success and it gave Jesse some more public attention.

Two months after its release, the album, which was totally produced by Jesse Jagz, reached platinum status in Nigeria.

The album was applauded by different music commentators as it earned positive reviews and ratings from them.

His debut music video, ‘Pump It Up’, released in November 2009 and got lots of reputable reviews.

Jesse Jagz has released four albums— 

  • Jag Of All Trades’ which was released in 2010 under Chocolate city, 
  • Jagz Nation, Vol. 1. ‘Thy Nation Come’ in  2013,
  •  Jagz Nation Vol. 2: ‘Royal Niger Company’  in 2014 and
  •  Odysseus in 2017.

Odysseus gave Jagz an opportunity to work with various other artists which was not possible when he was signed under Chocolate City. 

Jesse has had the privilege of working with some of Nigeria’s biggest artists which include Banky W, WizKid, Burna Boy, M.I, Ice Prince, Majek Fashek, Shank, Cynthia Morgan, Hot Ice, Melon, and R2Bees, among several others.  

‘My Brother’ which was another hit single was selected as part of the International Music Entrepreneur of the Year (IYMEY), 2008

He has also appeared in Nigerian Idol, a reality singing competition. 

He performed at the Star Mega Jam with Busta Rhymes and Ludacris in 2009. 

He has been nominated and won several awards. These include

  •  Most Top Ten Hits on Cool FM 2007.
  • Best Dance Single – “Bend Down Low
  • 2008 Producer of the Year (Hip Hop World Awards 2009)
  • Producer of the Year (The Future Awards 2009 and 2010)
  • Lyricist on the Roll for “God on the Mic” 2014 
  • Best New Act of the Year 2010

In June 2022, Jesse informed according to a report that he is working on a new album. 

My forthcoming album is going to feature alot of music genres. Hip hop, Jazz, Reggae, Afrobeats, R&B, Pop and so much more. The waiting hasn’t been in vain! You’ll understand why Leo had to isolate.” he said


Jesse has successfully produced various songs throughout his musical career. His productions include:

Everybody Loves Ice Prince

  • Oleku – featuring Brymo, 2010
  • Juju
  • Superstar
  • Magician – featuring Yung L and J-Milla)
  • Baby
  • See Myself
  • Wassup -featuring 2Face)
  • Find You
  • Small Small (featuring Sean Tero)
  • That Nigga (featuring Morell)
  • Raindrops (It’s All Good)

Brymo 2012 The Son of a Kapenta

  • Now Now
  • Go Hard
  • Good Morning
  • Jesse Jagz 2013, Jagz Nation, Vol.1. & 2 
  • Burning Bush
  • Bed of Roses – (featuring James Maverik)
  • Desire
  • Where You At?
  •  Mamacita
  • Sex & Scotch
  • God on the Mic
  • International
  • Steady Going
  • Jargo (featuring 9ice)

The Indestructible Choc Boi Nation

  • Summer Time – featuring M.I Abaga, Ice Prince and himself
  • No More – featuring Ruby Gyang and himself
  • Suite 99-featuring himself and Ice Prince)
  • Restoration – featuring himself, M.I Abaga and Milli)

And songs from his album, Odysseus released in 2017 just to mention a few.


  • Jag of All Tradez, released in 2010
  • Jagz Nation, Vol.1. Thy Nation Come  released in 2013
  • Jagz Nation Vol. 2: Royal Niger Company dropped in 2014.
  • Odysseus (2017) and 
  • Garba (EP) (2020)

And also a collaborative album in 2015 with the Chocolate City crew named The Indestructible Choc Boi Nation.


The information in this article was curated from online sources. NewsWireNGR or its editorial team cannot independently verify all details.

Always visit NewsWireNGR for the latest Naija news and updated Naija breaking news.

NewsWireNGRLatest News in Nigeria

Send Us A Press Statement/News Tips on 9ja Happenings: [email protected].

Advertise With Us: [email protected]

Contact Us


Leave a Reply

Share post:



More like this

I connected YBNL’s Olamide to Seyi Tinubu for investment — Dammy Krane

Nigerian singer and songwriter, Oyindamola Emmanuel, popularly known as...

How I escaped attack by Davido’s boys — Dammy Krane

Nigerian singer and songwriter, Oyindamola Emmanuel, stage name Dammy...

Frank Edward: Biography, Education, Career, Relationship, Net Worth, Achievements and Controversy

By Balogun Kamilu Lekan Biography Frank Ugochukwu Edwards is an afro-highlife...

We’re not recruiting, WAEC warns public against ‘fake job opportunities’

The West African Examinations Council (WAEC) has distanced itself...
%d bloggers like this: