Breaking News

APC Senators Exchange Blows Over Sharing Of Positions

Estimated Reading Time: <1

The crisis rocking the All Progressives Congress, APC has taken a new twist as the senators belonging to different factions of party exchanged blows over sharing of offices during a meeting in Abuja.

At a meeting Senator Kabiru Marafa was said to have hit Senatot Tayo Alasoadura for arguing that that Ayaji Boroffice would be a better choice as chief whip than Senator Olusola Adeyeye who belongs to Unity Forum Senators.

According to a source, the parley held behind closed door in Meeting Room 3:01, had about 40 Senators in attendance as Senator Danjuma Goje, Gombe Central, led the group loyal to Senate President Bukola Saraki, while Senator Barnabas Gemade, Benue North East, led the group loyal to Senator Ahmad Lawan.

It was learnt that it took the intervention of other senators who averted a free for all.

The factional crisis rocking APC senators resulted in the emergence of Bukola Saraki as senate president contrary to the dictates of the party’s leaders.Supporters of Saraki’s faction are known as the Like Minds Senators.

“I appeal to you all to let us do those things that will unite us than do those that will divide us. For me, I am ready and desirous, as colleagues to work with all of you in order to provide that focused leadership in the Senate and National Assembly as an institution,” Saraki noted in his opening speech at the meeting.

The Unity Forum comprises supporters of Senator Ahmed Lawan whose ill- fated candidacy was believed to have been championed by APC national leader,Bola Tinubu.

Pro Lawan senators said the problem arose on Monday because Saraki’s supporters sought to impose their candidates to fill key offices even after their faction had snatched the senate presidency.

There was a melodrama when Senator Kabir Marafa, Zamfara Central and Senator Tayo Alasoadura, Ondo Central were involved in fisticuffs over their opposing positions.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *