Ladoja affirms Lekan Balogun as next Olubadan

High Chief Rashidi Ladoja, the Osi Olubadan has declared his support for the ascension of Senator Lekan Balogun as the next Olubadan of Ibadan land.

He revealed his change of stand while addressing the press on Saturday on behalf of the Olubadan-in-Council after a closed-door meeting with the state governor, Seyi Makinde at the Government House, Agodi, Ibadan.

Ladoja had earlier noted; “There was no time, I said I backed his (Lekan Balogun) nomination or not”.

Meanwhile, members of the Olubadan-in-Council who were elevated to Obas by the Ajimobi-led administration in Oyo state have agreed to drop their crowns and revert to High Chiefs.

Speaking after the meeting with Makinde, Ladoja said; “I can tell you that Ibadan is very lucky. All the matters causing crisis in Ibadanland have been resolved. The governor has been magnanimous to have called this meeting because those of us who thought we won’t meet again have finally met and resolved all the matters.

ALSO READ: 2023: Ideal president must not be old, should be able to communicate — IBB

“So, I can tell you that, by next week, you won’t notice any tension in Ibadan again.”

“The resolution is simple and the only contention was the objection by Barrister Lana on the court case and it has been resolved.

“None of us argued that the Otun Olubadan, Senator Balogun, is not the next Olubadan. All of us have agreed on that position because that is our hierarchy.”

“Before the resolution could be announced, we have our procedure. The Olubadan-in-Council will meet and we will present the candidate to the governor for assent.”

“Now, we are very happy that we have resolved the problem and we are all grateful to the governor.”

The meeting had in attendance the Otun Olubadan of Ibadan land, High Chief Lekan Balogun; Balogun of Ibadanland, High Chief Owolabi Olakuleyin; Ashipa Olubadan of Ibadanland, Chief Eddy Oyewole; Ekerin Olubadan of Ibadanland, Chief Abiodun Kola Daisi; Ekarun Olubadan of Ibadanland, Chief Amidu Ajibade; Otun Balogun, Chief Tajudeen Ajibola; Osi Balogun of Ibadanland, Chief Lateef Gbadamosi Adebimpe; Ashipa Balogun, Chief Adewole Adegbola; and the Ekarun Balogun, Chief Dauda Azeez Agagugu.

NewsWireNGR Latest News in Nigeria

Leave a Reply