Connect with us


Buhari appoints APC chieftain, Oyegun as UI governing council chairman



Estimated Reading Time: 1

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed a former national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, as the chairman of the University of Ibadan (UI) governing council.

Oyegun was Chairman of the APC in 2015 when Buhari was elected President.

The president also reconstituted the governing councils of the University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT), University of Lagos (UNILAG), Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife, and the Maritime University in Delta state.

Buhari’s approval was contained in a statement issued on Thursday by Sonny Echono, permanent secretary of the federal ministry of education.

“For UNIPORT, the governing council members are Sen. Andrew Uchendu as chairman, while Mr. Kolo Uzamat, Cdre. D.T. Hinga, Mohammed Makarfi, and Ahmed Al-Mustapha are members,” the permanent secretary said.

“For UNILAG, Chief Dr. Lanre Tejuosho is chairman, with Dr Aminu Ahmed, Dr Uro Gardner, Chief Chinedu Adindi, and Comrade Mustafa Salihu as members.

“OAU has Chief Oscar Udoji as Chairman, with Capt. Bala Jibrin, Hon. Eugene Odo, Dr Lateef Babata, and Alhaji Saidu Bako as members.

“The Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko in Delta has Dr Elias Courson as Chairman and Hon. Nelson Alapa, Hon Victor Giadono, Alhaji Bello Dukku, and Mr Godwin Ananghe as members.”

He said all the governing councils of the five universities would be inaugurated in Abuja by minister of education, Adamu Adamu, on April 19.

Echono urged the vice-chancellors of the affected universities to attend the inauguration ceremony.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *