Connect with us


Breaking: Senate confirm appointment of new service chiefs



The Nigerian Senate has confirmed the appointment of the new service chiefs.

The new service chiefs, Major General Lucky Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major General Ibrahim Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Awwal Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; Awwal Gambo and Air Vice Marshall Oladayo Alao, Chief Air Staff were nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari in February after accepting the resignation of the past service chiefs.

Their confirmation today was preceded by a report by the Senate Committee on Defence.

While presenting the report, Chairman of the Committee Senator Aliu Wamako told the Senate that the nominees were thoroughly screened and did not receive any petition against them during the screening process.

Senate President Ahmed Lawan congratulated the new service chiefs and told them to charge against the terrorists enclaves.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *