Connect with us


The Rise of a New Generation: 5 Children of Ex-Governors assume House of Representatives Committees



In the hallowed chambers of the Nigerian House of Representatives, a new chapter is unfolding as five young and ambitious individuals step into the spotlight. Suenu Ibori, Mohammed Bello el-Rufai, Adegboyega Adefarati, Olamiju Akala, and Olumide Osoba, all children of former governors, have been named chairpersons of influential committees.

Their selection marks a significant moment in Nigerian politics, as they carry the legacy of their accomplished parents while embarking on their own paths of public service.

– Suenu Ibori (PDP) — Niger Delta Development Commission (NNDC) Committee

– Mohammed Bello el-Rufai (APC) — Banking Regulation Committee

– Adegboyega Adefarati (APC) — Labour, Employment and Productivity Committee

– Olamiju Akala (APC) — Youth in Parliament Committee

– Olumide Osoba (APC) — Justice Committee

Below are the names of the children of former governors.

Suenu Ibori

Suenu Ibori, the daughter of the revered former Governor James Ibori, has been appointed to lead the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) committee. Inspired by her father’s dedication to the development of the Niger Delta region, Suenu is determined to tackle the pressing issues faced by the people in the region and ensure that their voices are heard on the national stage.

Mohammed Bello el-Rufai

Mohammed Bello el-Rufai, the son of the renowned Governor Nasir el-Rufai, takes charge of the crucial Banking Regulation committee. Mohammed is poised to steer the nation’s banking sector towards greater stability and growth, building on his father’s reputation for sound economic policies.

Adegboyega Adefarati, the son of the late Governor Olusegun Adefarati, has been entrusted with the Labor, Employment, and Productivity committee. Adegboyega is determined to champion the cause of Nigerian workers, ensuring that their contributions are recognized and rewarded.

Olamiju Akala, son of the respected former Governor Adebayo Alao-Akala, assumes the leadership of the Youth in Parliament committee. A youth advocate and a first-timer in the House of Representatives, Olamiju is committed to amplifying the voices of young Nigerians, advocating for their inclusion in policy-making, and empowering them to shape their own future.

Olumide Osoba, the son of former Governor Olusegun Osoba, stands as the Chairperson of the Justice committee. With a background in law and a deep-rooted commitment to justice and fairness, Olumide is determined to uphold the rule of law and ensure that the judiciary remains independent and robust.

As first-timers in the House of Representatives, Mohammed, Suenu, Olamiju, and Adegboyega carry the hopes and aspirations of their constituencies and the nation as a whole. While they carry the weight of their parents’ legacies, they also bring fresh perspectives and youthful vigor to their roles, promising to chart a new course for the country.

Their appointments have sparked both praise and scrutiny, reflecting the diverse opinions in the nation’s political landscape. However, the five children of former governors are undeterred, committed to proving themselves through their dedication, hard work, and unwavering commitment to the betterment of Nigeria.

As they assume their respective committee leadership positions, the eyes of the nation are fixed on these young leaders, eager to witness the impact they will make and the chapters they will add to the annals of Nigerian history. The journey of these five promising individuals represents a glimmer of hope for a brighter future, where the next generation of leaders continues to rise and shape the destiny of the great nation of Nigeria.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *