Connect with us


List of Labour Party members who won senatorial elections



1. Darlington Nwokocha – Abia central senatorial district

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Darlington Nwokocha of the Labour Party (LP) as the winner of the February 25 election for Abia Central Senatorial District.

Nwokocha as the winner, polled 92,116 votes.

His opponents; Retired Col. Augustine Akobundu of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) came second with 41,447 votes, while Chief Samuel Onuigbo of the All Progressives Congress (APC) got 7,997 votes.

2. Ireti Kingibe – FCT

The FCT senatorial candidate of the Labour Party, Ireti Kingibe, was declared winner of the election.

Kingibe, the wife of one-time Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babagana Kingibe, scored 202,175 votes to emerge winner.

3. Ezenwa Onyewuchi – Imo East Senatorial District

The candidate of the Labour Party (LP) Senator Ezenwa Onyewuchi was declared the winner of the Imo East Senatorial District election.

Senator Onyewuchi who is the Senator representing the zone in the Red Chambers retained the seat after polling 100,631 votes to beat Uche Onyeagocha of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 87,229 votes.

4. Neda Imasuen – Edo South

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), declared the Edo State Labour Party (LP), Neda Imasuen, as the winner of the South senatorial seat.

Imasuen, a lawyer was announced the winner of the contest, after defeating the two major political parties; the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The Returning Officer, Professor Julius Obasuyi, said Imasuen polled 167,250 votes while his closest rival, Mathhew Iduoriyekemwen of the PDP garnered 61,749; and Valentine Asuen of the APC scored 57,933.

According to Obasuyi, AA scored 369 votes.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *