Connect with us


List of Labour Party members who won House of Representative elections



1. Obika Chinedu – FCT

Obika Chinedu, the Labour Party (LP) candidate won the House of Representatives election in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja.

Gabriel said Chinedu won 201, 308 votes out of a total of 326, 463 votes cast to emerge the winner.

The returning officer said Chinedu defeated Micah Jiba, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who got a total of 58,809 votes.

According to the returning Officer, Suleiman Ribadu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled a total of 44,808 votes, while Obute Ann of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) polled 3,289 votes.

2. Manuchim Umezuruike – Phalga Constituency 1, Rivers State

Manuchim Umezuruike has been elected to represent Phalga Constituency 1 of Rivers State at the Federal House of Representatives.

According to the Returning Officer, Dr. Onutu Richard, Umezuruike polled 22,459 votes to defeat the PDP candidate.

3. Professor Oby Orogbu – Awka North/South House of Representatives, Anambra

Professor Oby Orogbu has been declared the winner in the February 25 National Assembly election to represent Awka North/South House of Representatives in Anambra.

Orogbu was declared the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission returning officer of the Awka North/South.

Orogbu pulled 34, 741 votes to defeat her closest rival, Obi Nwankwo of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, who pulled 24, 814 and Emeka Igwe of the Peoples Democratic Party who got 12, 850 votes.

Other parties with their votes were Young Progressive Party, 2,042; All Progressives Congress, 850: Action Alliance, 625.

4. Chidi Obetta – Nsukka/Igbo-Eze south federal constituency, Enugu

Chidi Obetta was declared the winner of the Nsukka/Igbo-Eze south federal constituency election in Enugu state, Ginger Onwusibe secured victory in Isiala Ngwa north/south federal constituency.

Eze said Obetta polled a total of 50,881 votes to defeat Vita Abba of the PDP, who polled 19,347 votes.

Obetta was an aspirant for the seat on the PDP platform in May 2022, before he defected to the LP.

5. Ginger Onwusibe – Isiala Ngwa north/south federal constituency, Abia

Ginger Onwusibe of Labour Party has been declared the House of Representatives member-elect for Isialangwa North and South Federal constituency of Abia State.

Ginger defeated his main challenger and the candidate of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Professor Anthony Agbazuere.

Ginger was a former PDP member of Abia House of Assembly. He scored 20,411 votes to emerge victorious in the House of Representatives election.

6. Donatus Mathew – Kaura Federal constituency of Southern Kaduna

Labour Party candidate for the Kaura Federal constituency of Southern Kaduna, Donatus Mathew, has been declared the winner of the Saturday poll.

Donatus, who was known for his motorcycle transporter business, was declared the winner of the election on Sunday night.

Although the LP candidate had served as a Councillor in his ward, he was reduced to an okada rider due to hardship.

The Labour Party garnered 10,466 votes to defeat the 9,828 received by the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC.

Official results:

LP – 10,466

PDP – 10,221

APC – 9,828

NNPP – 4,560

7. Benedict Etanabene – Okpe, Sapele, and Uvwie Federal Constituency seat, Delta

Benedict Etanabene has been declared winner of Okpe, Sapele and Uvwie Federal Constituency seat in Delta State.

To emerge victorious, Etanabene, a lawyer and former staff of the Petroleum Training Institute, Effurun, defeated a former two-term member of the House of Representatives and PDP candidate, Evelyn Oboro and APC candidate, Mr Henry Baro.

The results announced by INEC showed Labour Party polling 37,107 of the total votes cast in the election, while the PDP candidate, Oboro, who came second, scored 29,917 votes, and the APC candidate, Baro, polled 22,388 votes to come third.

With the result, Labour Party becomes the first opposition party in Delta State to win the House Representatives seat for Okpe, Sapele and Uvwie Federal Constituency.

8. Chijioke Nwodo – Igbo-Etiti-Uzo-Uwani Federal Constituency, Enugu

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Labour Party (LP) candidate for Igbo-Etiti-Uzo-Uwani Federal Constituency, Chijioke Nwodo, winner of the 25 February national assembly election in the constituency.

Nwodo polled a total of 14,089 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Martins Okeh of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 12,633 votes to clinch the second position.

9. Thaddeus Attah – Eti- Osa  Federal Constituency, Lagos

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Thaddeus Attah of the Labour Party (LP) as the Eti- Osa Federal Constituency seat winner in the House of Representatives.

Attah won with 24,075 votes, beating his counterparts, Olubankole Wellington (Banky W) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who had 18,666 votes, and Babajide Obanikoro of the APC, who had 16,901 votes.

10. George Adegeye – Amuwo-Odofin, Lagos

The Labour Party House of Representatives candidate in Amuwo-Odofin, George Adegeye, has been declared the winner of Saturday’s election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Adegeye polled 46,702 of the valid votes cast to defeat Prince Lanre Sanusi of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who got 12,946 votes.

The People’s Democratic Party’s (PDP) Oghene Ego who is a serving member of the House of Representatives, came a distant third with 5,752 votes.

11. Ekene Adams Abubakar – Chikun/Kajuru Federal Constituency, Kaduna state

Ekene Adams Abubakar emerged winner of the contest to pick a representative of Chikun/Kajuru Federal Constituency of Kaduna State in the National Assembly.

He defeated the incumbent, Yakubu Barde of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP), who has represented the constituency since 2003.

Abubakar polled 57,725 ballots to beat Barde, who scored 47,937 votes, while All Progressives Congress’ (APC) Caino Cafra Boaz came distant third with 19,293 tally.

12. Paul Nnamchi – Enugu East-Isi-Uzo Federal Constituency

Paul Nnamchi of the Labour Party defeated Cornelius Nnaji of the PDP, a serving member of the House of Representatives representing Enugu East-Isi-Uzo Federal Constituency.

Nnamchi, a professor and candidate of the LP, polled a total of 50,308 votes. Mr Nnaji of the PDP came polled 16,239 votes to come a distant second.

13. Okey Joe – Oshodi-Isolo II, Lagos

Barrister Okey-Joe won the House of Reps election to represent Oshodi-Isolo II federal constituency, Lagos state.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *