Osun State Governor, Adegboyega Oyetola won the APC Primary contest at his ward

Osun State Governor, Adegboyega Oyetola, has won the contest at his ward in the governorship primary election of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the state.

He emerged the winner of the exercise conducted on Saturday at his ward in Iragbiji town in Boripe Local Government Area of the state in south-west Nigeria.

Governor Oyetola is contesting for the APC ticket against a former Secretary to the Government of the State (SSG), Moshood Adeoti, as well as a former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Lasun Yussuff.

The APC conducted the primary using the direct mode across the wards in the state. This mode allows party members to choose the candidate of their choice.

According to the result announced in Oyetola’s ward, the governor has 1,612 votes from party faithful while his two co-contenders recorded zero votes.

In his reaction, Governor Oyetola commended the process which he described as free and fair. The exercise was also adjudged to be peaceful so far as no case of violence was recorded according to multiple newsmen.

Political parties are conducting primaries to select their candidates for the governorship election scheduled to hold on July 16, as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Leave a Reply