Connect with us


Omicron: Like UK, Canada lifts travel ban on Nigeria



Canada has on Friday lifted a travel ban it imposed on Nigeria over the COVID-19 Omicron variant.

Canada had earlier in the month added Nigeria, along with Egypt and Malawi to the list of countries banned from entering its territory over the Omicron COVID variant.

The UK had also in a similar move added the country on its red list, which requires a mandatory ten-day hotel quarantine, are Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The Nigerian government had in retaliation restricted airlines coming from Canada, and UK.

Earlier in the week, the UK removed the country from the red list. Just few days later, Canada followed suit.

Canada also removed from its red list South Africa, Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

Speaking at a media briefing on Friday, Canada’s Minister of Health, Jean-Yves Duclos, said the ban was imposed to slow the arrival of Omicron in the country.

Duclos added that the travel ban has served its purpose and is no longer needed.

The minister, however, disclosed that the reversal of the travel ban will take effect from December 18.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *