Anambra Guber 2021: Six APGA lawmakers defect to APC

Less than 24 hours after President Muhammadu Buhari received Anambra Governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Andy Uba, six Assembly members of the state under the platform of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) defected to the APC.

The six lawmakers are: Hon. Nonso Okafor representing Nnewi North; Hon. Timothy Ifedioramma representing Njikoka 1; Hon. Cater D. N Umeoduagu representing Aguata 1; Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu representing Dumekofia; Hon. Arthur Chiekwu representing Idemmih North and Hon. Edward Ibuzo, representing Onisha North 2.

The new APC members were received by the Chairman, APC Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) and Governor of Yobe state, Mai Mala Buni.

Commenting, Buni said; “Mere looking at what is happening, especially now that so prominent and serving state lawmakers have started joining, the grassroots is moving and Anambra people are moving to the APC.”

Also reacting, the Imo state governor, Senator Hope Uzodinma, who was present at the event said the Southeast people have woken up and the region is committed to national politics and be part and parcel of Nigeria.

The 2021 Anambra state gubernatorial election is slated by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for November 6, 2021.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *