Anambra imposes curfew on six communities

Estimated Reading Time: 1

The Anambra State government has imposed a curfew on six communities in Anambra East and Oyi local government areas.

This is following the attack by gunmen that left nine people dead on Monday.

Hoodlums had invaded Ukpomachi Village, Okuzu in Oyi Local Government Area of the State, destroying property and livestock.

The affected communities are Igbariam, Aguleri, and Umueri in Anambra East, as well as Nteje, Awkuzu, and Umunya in Oyi local government area.

A statement by the Secretary to the State government, Professor Solo Chukwulobelu said the curfew, which took immediate effect, is between 7 pm and 6 am daily.

The statement advised the people and residents of the state living in the affected communities to obey the curfew order, as security personnel are on strict orders to enforce it.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *