Press Releases

Governor Buni-led APC caretaker committee resolves Cross River state chapter disputes

Following the directives of the National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Caretaker/Extra Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee, Governor Mai Mala Buni, the Secretary of the Committee, Senator John James Akpanudoedehe met with Cross River State APC stakeholders over the factional and long-standing political disputes
in the state chapter.

The meeting which was held at the Party’s National Secretariat on Tuesday had in attendance, key stakeholders of the Cross River State APC among which: Hon. Goddy Jedy-Agba (Minister of State for Power); Sen. Victor Ndoma Egba CON, SAN; Sen. John Owan Enoh; Sen. Mathew T. Mbu Jr; Sen. Bassey Otu; Rt. Hon. Larry Odey;  Hon. Usani Uguru Usani;  Hon.
Ntufam Hilliard Eta, and Ntufam Godwin Etim John.

Also present were: Chief Akin Ricketts; Barr (Mrs) Mary Ekpere Eta; Chief Eteyen Umanah; Odey Ochicha; Wabilly Nyiam; Adie Ferdinand A; John
Upan Odey; Alex Egbona; Sir John Ochala; Phillip Obin, and Engr. Bassey Nkposong; among others.

Deliberations during the meeting centered around the leadership of the Party in Cross River State, where two factions led by Ntufam Godwin Etim John and Sir John Ochalla respectively, were in contention.

Senator Akpanudoedehe, after hearing presentations from parties, stressed on the need for all present to come to an amicable resolution, to prepare the Party for the fast-approaching elections in Cross River State.

At the end of deliberations, Senator Matthew T. Mbu was unanimously mandated to assume the office of the Cross River State Chairman of the Party, a decision that has been subsequently approved by the Governor Mai Mala Buni-led APC Caretaker/Extra Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee.

Commendably, the two factional Chairmen have expressed relief at having been able to sink their differences in the interest of moving the Party forward in the State.

Yekini Nabena
_Deputy National Publicity Secretary _
All Progressives Congress (APC)


Leave a Reply