Ekweremadu, Gbajabiamila To Lead Lawmakers To S’Africa On ‘Protest’ Visit

Ike Ekweremadu, deputy senate president, will lead six members of the senate to the South African parliament to protest against the killing of Nigerians in the country.

They are – Ahmed Lawan, Olusola Adeyeye, Stella Oduah, Shehu Sani, Shaaba Lafiagi and Magnus Abe.

Senate President Bukola Saraki announced the names of the members of the delegation on Wednesday.

Also, Femi Gbajabiamila, majority leader of the house of representatives, will lead five members of the house to South Africa for the same reason.

They are – Nnenna Okeje, Sadiq Ibrahim, Henry Nwawuba, Nasiru Daura, and Shehu Musa.

On Tuesday, the senate resolved to send a strong delegation to South Africa to protest against the attacks on Nigerians in the country.

The upper legislative chamber took the decision after? Rose Oko, a senator from Cross River north, moved a motion urging it to intervene in the resurgence of xenophobic attacks.

In recent times, aggrieved South Africans have attacked Nigerians and their businesses.

The Nigerian Union in the country reported that pieces of property worth millions were destroyed in the attacks.

Responding to the development on Tuesday, the senate resolved, “to send a strong parliamentary delegation to the South African parliament to register its displeasure at the xenophobic attacks on Nigerians”.

It also condemned the attacks.

Abike Dabiri-Erewa, senior special assistant to the president on foreign affairs and diaspora, had earlier warned the South Afric?an government against the attacks, threatening consequences if they continue.

Leave a Reply