Connect with us


INEC To Conduct 78 Re-run Elections In 2016



Estimated Reading Time: <1

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) is to conduct seventy-eight re-run elections this year.

A breakdown of the elections indicates that the Commission will conduct 10 Senatorial elections, 12 State Constituency elections and 37 State Assembly elections.

Others are 17 Federal Constituency elections and 2 Governorship re-run elections, subject to the verdict of the Supreme Court.

According to the commission’s in house bulletin, the re-run which will take place across the country are based on verdicts issued by the Court of Appeal.

Most of the court verdicts were given in December 2015 while a few others were ordered in November 2015, and are expected to hold within 90 days or 60 days as ordered by the Appellate Court.
Meanwhile, INEC has also announced the commencement of Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) for the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) ahead of the council elections.

The exercise according to INEC will commence from Wednesday, 13th January to Sunday, 17th January 2016. The exercise will take place at all the sixty-two (62) Registration Centres/Wards and other approved locations across the FCT.

According to INEC Daily Bulletin, the exercise is to provide opportunity for those who were unable to register during the last exercise and also those who just turned 18 years.

“The CVR will begin at the Registration Centre/Wards at 9:00 a.m. and end at 4:00 p.m on each of the five-day exercise. The last day for Claims and Objections shall be on Monday, 18th January 2016,” INEC stated.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email