Connect with us


Kaduna State Govt Sacks Caretaker Committees Of All 23 LGs In The State



By Chris Nomjov

Kaduna State government has announced the dissolution of the interim management committees of the 23 local government areas in the state.

Governor Nasir el-Rufai announced the dissolution today in Kaduna. Samuel Aruwan, special assistant to the governor on media and publicity, announced this in a statement issued on Wednesday.

Aruwan explained that the decision was based on the expiration of their six-month term of office.

“The interim management committees of the 23 local government councils were appointed on July 3, 2015 for a period of six months in the first instance,” the statement read.

“The local government (administration) law No. 12 of 2012 provides that their tenure can be extended by the Kaduna state house of assembly.

“The government has made appropriate submissions for the extension of the tenure of the IMCs, but the house of assembly is currently on recess.

“Therefore, the lawful thing to do is to dissolve the interim management committees with effect from 6 January 2016.

“Malam Nasir El-Rufai, the governor of Kaduna state, has therefore approved the dissolution of the interim management committees.

“The governor also extended his profound appreciation to all the IMC members for their selfless and dedicated service to their local governments in particular, and Kaduna state in general.

“The government has also directed each IMC to handover to the most senior director in their respective local governments, who will oversee the office of Chairman pending action by the honourable members of the house of assembly.”

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *