Nigeria’s Chimamanda Nominated For A Grammy For Her Collaboration With Beyoncé Knowles

Award-winning writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie has received yet another accolade-she has been nominated for a Grammy award–the world’s most prestigious Music Award.

The nomination is based on her collaboration with Beyonce on the song “Flawless”, which has become an iconic song for women around the world – and which has also become the most popular song on Beyonce’s recent album everywhere across the globe.

Beyoncé’s recent self titled album, which includes “Flawless”, is in the running for Album Of The Year at the Grammy Awards, and all major participants on the album are nominated, as is the practice.

Chimamnda is nominated for the the number category of the award, Album Of The Year.

Here are those in the categories.


Beck Hansen, producer; Tom Elmhirst, David Greenbaum, Florian Lagatta, Cole Marsden Greif-Neill, Robbie Nelson, Darrell Thorp, Cassidy Turbin & Joe Visciano, engineers/mixers; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer
Label: Capitol Records


Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Drake, Jay Z & Frank Ocean, featured artists; Ammo, Boots, James Fauntleroy, Noel “Detail” Fisher, Jerome Harmon, Hit-Boy, Beyoncé Knowles, Terius “The Dream” Nash, Caroline Polachek, Rey Reel, Noah “40” Shebib, Ryan Tedder, Timbaland, Justin Timberlake, Key Wane, Pharrell Williams & Patrick Wimberly, producers; Boots, Noel Cadastre, Noel “Gadget” Campbell, Rob Cohen, Andrew Coleman, Chris Godbey, Justin Hergett, James Krausse, Mike Larson, Jonathan Lee, Tony Maserati, Ann Mincieli, Caroline Polachek, Andrew Scheps, Bart Schoudel, Noah “40” Shebib, Ryan Tedder, Stuart White & Jordan “DJ Swivel” Young, engineers/mixers; Tom Coyne, James Krausse & Aya Merrill, mastering engineers
Label: Columbia Records

Ed Sheeran

Jeff Bhasker, Benny Blanco, Jake Gosling, Johnny McDaid, Rick Rubin & Pharrell Williams, producers; Andrew Coleman, Jake Gosling, Matty Green, William Hicks, Tyler Sam Johnson, Jason Lader, Johnny McDaid, Chris Sclafani, Mark Stent & Geoff Swan, engineers/mixers; Stuart Hawkes, mastering engineer
Label: Atlantic
In The Lonely Hour

Sam Smith

Steve Fitzmaurice, Komi, Howard Lawrence, Zane Lowe, Mojam, Jimmy Napes, Naughty Boy, Fraser T. Smith, Two Inch Punch & Eg White, producers; Michael Angelo, Graham Archer, Steve Fitzmaurice, Simon Hale, Darren Heelis, James Murray, Jimmy Napes, Mustafa Omer, Dan Parry, Steve Price & Eg White, engineers/mixers; Tom Coyne & Stuart Hawkes, mastering engineers
Label: Capitol Records

Pharrell Williams

Alicia Keys & Justin Timberlake, featured artists; Pharrell Williams, producer; Leslie Brathwaite, Adrian Breakspear, Andrew Coleman, Jimmy Douglas, Hart Gunther, Mick Guzauski, Florian Lagatta, Mike Larson, Stephanie McNally, Alan Meyerson, Ann Mincieli & Kenta Yonesaka, engineers/mixers; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer
Label: Columbia Records
Chimamanda Adichie, by virtue of this nomination, becomes the first Nigerian writer to be a Grammy nominee. Check out the nominees list at the Grammy Website here. You can also see a screenshot of the relevant section of the nomination below.

Beyonce has spoken out about how much Chimamanda’s speech (which by the way has been published in print in the U.S. and is about to be published around the world) inspired her and why she just had to sample it in her song. See Beyonce’s short video below where she talks about this.

The Grammy Awards will hold on Feb 8th. Whether the album wins or not, the nomination is already a milestone for a Nigerian writer and we should celebrate it. Looking forward to much more from Chimamanda as usual, as well as all our talented Nigerian writers and artists.

%d bloggers like this: