Connect with us


INEC Extends Voter Registration In Kano, Edo, Plateau, Ogun, Imo & Lagos



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has granted a two-day extension of the Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) in all states under the third phase of the exercise except Adamawa.

Chief Press Secretary to INEC Chairman, Kayode Robert Idowu in a statement on Sunday said the CVR that commenced on Wednesday, November 12th and was scheduled to end on Monday, November 17th, 2014, will now last until Wednesday, November 19th, 2014. The states affected are Kano, Edo, Plateau, Ogun, Imo and Lagos.

The Chairman of INEC, Professor Attahiru Jega, approved the extension to make up for initial challenges in the exercise and to enable as many eligible persons as possible to get registered.

The Commission strongly admonishes against persons using the CVR to engage in multiple registration, which is a criminal offence and culprits liable to prosecution.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *