Ronaldo Reigns Supreme Over Messi As Simeone, Ramos & Others Win La Liga Awards

Cristiano Ronaldo won La Liga’s big prize on Monday night when he received the La Liga player of the year award. He beat Barcelona attacker, Lionel Messi to the award and was accompanied to the ceremony by his girlfriend, Irina Shayk. The award puts him in a good position for a second consecutive balloon d’or award. The Portuguese also won the award for the forward of the year after netting 31 times in the Spanish top flight last season.

‘I have to thank my team-mates, Real Madrid, my family… it is a very good moment in my career’. ‘For me, the important thing is to win collective prizes, but I like the individual ones, too. I work every day, in training, to continue adding more to this’, Ronaldo said in his acceptance speech.

Atletico Madrid manager, Diego Simeone picked up the award for manager of the season while Real Madrid’s Sergio Ramos went home with the best defender award. The rest of the award winners on the night are as follows:

Best Goalkeeper:  Keylor Navas – Real Madrid (formerly Levante)

Best Defensive Midfielder: Luka Modric – Real Madrid

Best Attacking Midfielder: Andres Iniesta – Barcelona

Best African Player: Yacine Brahimi – Granada

Best South American Player: Carlos Bacca – Sevilla

Revelation: Rafinha Alcantara – Barcelona (loaned to Celta in 2013-14)

Best Goal: Cristiano Ronaldo (vs Valencia) – Real Madrid

Fair Play: Ivan Rakitic – Barcelona (formerly Sevilla)
Newcastle’s Ayoze Perez  who was on target for the premier league side over the weekend also picked up the two awards. The 21-year-old was given the Liga Adelante’s breakthrough player gong for his great performances at lower division side, Tenerife last season. Perez also received the best attacking midfielder award for the Segunda division.

“I’m really, really proud to be part of the names (in Madrid), because the awards are for players in the Primera and Segunda so it’s a very important awards ceremony”, he said.

Leave a Reply