Fayose Swings Into Action, Sacks All Council Chairmen

Newly sworn in Governor of Ekiti state, Ayodele Fayose has sacked the administrators of the 35 Local Government Areas in the state.
The 35 local government areas involved are the original 16 and the 19 Local Council Development Areas, LCDAs, in the state.
Chief Press Secretary to the
Governor, Idowu Adelusi, said this in statement made available to News Agency of Nigeria in Ado-Ekiti.
All chairmen along with their
secretaries and other members of the caretaker committees have been were affected by the decision.
Also, the statement ordered the dissolution of all boards of parastatals, agencies and commissions with immediate effect.
All the council chairmen are expected to immediately hand over to the directors of administration in their respective council areas.
Caretaker chairmen had been in control of the 16 council areas throughout the tenure of the immediate past governor, Kayode Fayemi.

It remains unclear what Governor Fayose will do with the 19 Local councils created by Fayemi having vowed not to recognise any illegal creation made by the immediate past administration.

Leave a Reply