Nigeria Football Association Hails Keshi’s 23-man List For 2014 World Cup

The Nigeria Football Association (NFA) on Tuesday in Abuja commended Stephen Keshi, the Super Eagles Head Coach, for his selection of final 23-man squad for the 2014 World Cup.

Mike Umeh, the first Vice Chairman of the NFA, told newsmen in Abuja that the football house was not surprised at the list because of the pedigree of Keshi who was always eager to achieve good result.

“We are not surprised about this team list; we expected it. We have to congratulate Keshi because it’s not easy to draw such a list out of the 30 boys he is having in his camp.

“So, we have to congratulate those who made it. Those who didn’t make it, let them wait for their turn because there is a football revolution in Nigeria.

“By the time they finish this one month tournament we have to start preparation for the African Cup of Nations which is coming up in Morocco.

“Thereafter, there are many tournaments we are going in for, so  there is no problem; those dropped and those playing, we can only support,’’ Umeh said.

Musa Amadu, the Secretary-General of the NFA also praised Keshi for surmounting the pressure of selection especially when the invited 30 players had displayed skillful performances.

“I have nothing to say other than kudos for the coach for coming up with the 23-man list.

“I am sure he was under immense pressure particularly given the level of eagerness of all the players to make the squad for the Brazil 2014 World Cup.

“I am confident that these are players he has chosen that will do Nigeria proud in Brazil; so, I am quite confident that he has mixed experience with a lot of youth and enthusiasm.

“I am quite sure that the boys are patriotic enough to go and do the job in Brazil,’’ Amadu said.

Keshi released a final list of 23 players for the Brazil 2014 World Cup on Monday midnight.

The final list includes: goalkeepers Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide and Chigozie Agbim, while midfielders are Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Ramon Azeez, Michael Uchebo and Reuben Gabriel.

The defenders are Joseph Yobo, Elderson Echiejile, Juwon Oshaniwa, Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe, Kenneth Omeruo, Efe Ambrose and Kunle Odunlami.

Osaze Odemwingie, Ahmed Musa, Shola Ameobi, Emmanuel Emenike, Babatunde Michael, Victor Moses and Uche Nwofor are in the forward line.

Ejike Uzoenyi, Joel Obi, Nnamdi Oduamadi, Obinna Nsofor, Nosa Igiebor, Sunday Mba and goalkeeper Daniel Akpoenyi were excluded from the final list.

The final list was submitted on June 2, as demanded by the Federation of International Football Association (FIFA).

%d bloggers like this: