Connect with us


Cool FM’s Freeze, Bags Best On Air Personality Award



Popular compere and Cool FM OAP Freeze has won the award for Favourite Nigerian On-Air Personality at this year’s Nickelodeon’s 27th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards in LA last weekend, Saturday 29 March 2014.

Freeze who was nominated along side top OAPs like Beat FM’s Toolz, Rhythm FM’s Toke Makinwa and Wana Wana of Inspiration FM walked the orange carpet with international superstars from the worlds of film, music, sports, television and more, including Jennifer Lawrence, Robert Downey Jr., One Direction, Sam & Cat, Selena Gomez, Kevin Hart, Patrick Star and Dwight Howard.

Hosted by Oscar and Golden Globe nominated actor/producer Mark Wahlberg, the awards took place at the Galen Center at USC in Los Angeles, where kids honoured their favourite TV personalities.

This year’s KCAs featured a new design – dual stages, a 360-degree mosh pit, a slime fountain delivering winner envelopes and a slime river snaking throughout the venue. Kicking off the star-studded celebration was internet sensation Todrick Hall with a pop performance medley featuring celeb cameos by Pharrell Williams, Austin Mahone and Cody Simpson, along with aerialists, cheerleaders and a step team. Celebrated magician David Blaine made his live awards show debut tonight by facing his greatest challenge ever – slime – in an unforgettable moment that literally knocked his head off.

Wahlberg maintained throughout the show that he would be an unslimeable host, a challenge that was put to the test against worthy opponents like Williams, Kaley Cuoco and Jack Reynor – all of whom got doused themselves in green goo. Ultimately, not even Optimus Prime could save Wahlberg from the massive drenching delivered by none other than Kevin Hart and the host’s own kids.

Kids’ TV hitmaker Dan Schneider received a special Lifetime Achievement Award presented to him by the stars of his mega-hit series iCarly (Nathan Kress, Noah Munck), Drake & Josh (Drake Bell, Josh Peck), Victorious (Victoria Justice, Avan Jogia, Daniella Monet, Leon Thomas III, Matt Bennett), Sam & Cat (Ariana Grande, Cameron Ocasio, Maree Cheatham, Zoran Korach), Kenan & Kel (Kenan Thompson, Kel Mitchell) and Zoey 101 (Chris Massey).

Top-selling recording artist Aloe Blacc took the stage with a medley of his hit songs, “Wake Me Up” and newest single “The Man,” while Brooklyn-based rock group American Authors closed the night with a multi-colored neon slime-filled performance of their #1 smash, “Best Day of My Life.”

Winning top honours at this year’s ultimate kid experience were Adam Sandler for Favourite Movie Actor; Jennifer Lawrence for Favourite Movie Actress and Favourite Female Buttkicker; The Hunger Games: Catching Fire for Favourite Movie and Frozen for Favourite Animated Movie. Robert Downey Jr. won top honours for Favourite Male Buttkicker and Miranda Cosgrove took home the blimp for Favourite Voice from an Animated Movie for her role of Margo in Despicable Me 2. In the television categories, Favourite TV Show went to Sam & Cat; Favourite Reality Show to Wipeout; Favourite Cartoon to SpongeBob SquarePants; Favourite TV Actor to Ross Lynch and Favourite TV Actress to Ariana Grande. In music, orange blimps went to Selena Gomez for Favourite Female Singer; Justin Timberlake for Favourite Male Singer and One Direction nabbed Favourite Music Group and “Story of My Life” for Favourite Song. The Diary of a Wimpy Kid series garnered Favourite Book; Despicable Me: Minion Rush won Favourite App Game; Just Dance 2014 won for Favourite Videogame; Kevin Hart nabbed the blimp for Favourite Funny Star; Patrick Star for Favourite Animated Animal Sidekick; and Dwight Howard took home the prize for Most Enthusiastic Athlete.
Additional celebrity participants at the star-studded telecast featured, including: Chris Rock, Robert Downey Jr., Jim Parsons, Jayma Mays, Kristen Bell, Chris Evans, Nicola Peltz, Shaun White, Tia Mowry-Hardrict, Selena Gomez, Queen Latifah, Michael Strahan, Carlos PenaVega, Zendaya, Debby Ryan, Andy Samberg, America Ferrera, Sophia Grace and Rosie from The Ellen DeGeneres Show, Will Arnett, Bella Thorne, Jake Short, Lea Michele, LL Cool J, James Maslow, Peta Murgatroyd, John Cena, The Bella Twins, Ross Lynch, Kendall Schmidt, cast members from The Haunted Hathaways, Instant Mom, The Thundermans, and many others.

The following are Nickelodeon’s 27th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards winners:


Favourite Nigerian On-Air Personality

Freeze (Cool FM)

Favourite South African Radio Personality

Anele Mdoda (94.7 Highveld Stereo)


Favourite TV Show

Sam & Cat

Favourite Reality Show


Favourite Cartoon

SpongeBob SquarePants

Favourite TV Actor

Ross Lynch (Austin & Ally)

Favourite TV Actress

Ariana Grande (Sam & Cat)


Favourite Movie

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Favourite Movie Actor

Adam Sandler (Grown Ups 2)

Favourite Movie Actress

Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games: Catching Fire)

Favourite Animated Movie


Favourite Voice from an Animated Movie

Miranda Cosgrove (Despicable Me 2)

Favourite Male Buttkicker

Robert Downey Jr. (Iron Man 3)

Favourite Female Buttkicker

Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games: Catching Fire)


Favourite Music Group

One Direction

Favourite Male Singer

Justin Timberlake

Favourite Female Singer

Selena Gomez

Favourite Song

“Story of My Life” (One Direction)


Favourite Book

Diary of a Wimpy Kid series

Favourite Videogame

Just Dance 2014

Favourite App Game

Despicable Me: Minion Rush

Favourite Funny Star

Kevin Hart

Favourite Animated Animal Sidekick

Patrick Star (SpongeBob SquarePants)

Most Enthusiastic Athlete

Dwight Howard

Nickelodeon’s 27th Annual Kids’ Choice Awards premieres across Africa on Nickelodeon (DStv Channel 305) on Wednesday, 2 April 2014 at 5PM.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *