Connect with us


DJ Jimmy Jatt, Wizkid, Jesse Jagz Celebrate With MTV As Official Naija Top 10 Clocks One



Press releases

… As Wizkid Returns To Number One With “Jaiye Jaiye”

Lagos, 3 March 2014: It’s a week of surprises as MTV Base Official Naija Top 10 celebrates one year at the top of the music charts with its landmark 52nd episode.

Nigeria’s hottest celebrities, Wizkid, DJ Jimmy Jatt and Jesse Jagz join MTV VJ and ONTT host, Ehiz in the studio this week to celebrate the show’s milestone anniversary with “Star Boy” Wizzy making a shock return to the top of the chart with “Jaiye Jaiye”.

This week’s show features exciting behind-the-scenes stories from the studio guests, including Wizkid and Jesse Jagz talking about the different challenges faced during the making of the video, “Bad Girl” – number 6 on this week’s chart.

DJ Jimmy Jatt was celebrated on the show as the first celebrity guest to co-host the Official Naija Top Ten. His classic video, “Style” featuring 2Face, Mode 9 and Elajo was selected as this week’s throwback video.

Ehiz gets to enjoy a celebratory slice of cake with his guests as they excitedly bring down all the balloons and decorations in the studio as the show comes to an end.

Moving on to this week’s chart, Olamide’s hit video, “Turn Up!” goes down to number 3 after two weeks at number one. Tiwa Savage also makes a concerted bid for the top, rising one place to number 2 with “Eminado” after more than two months on the chart. “Bad Girl”, the Jesse Jagz and Wizkid collaboration is this week’s highest climber – up three places to number 6.

Banky W and DJ Xclusive both climb one slot, to number 7 and number 5 respectively, while Dr Sid’s spanking new video, “Surulere”, Feat. Don Jazzy, moves up one place to number 9.

The MTV Base Official Naija Top 10: 28 February – 6 March 2014:

1 Wizkid – Jaiye Jaiye

2 Tiwa Savage – Eminado

3 Olamide – Turn Up

4 Burna Boy – Yawa Dey

5 DJ Xclusive – Pangolo

6 Jesse Jagz Ft Wizkid – Bad Girl

7 Banky W – Jasi

8 Professor, Flavour, Chidinma, Sound Sultan & Kcee – Sweet Like Shuga

9 Dr Sid Feat. Don Jazzy – Surulere

10 Mr 2Kay – Bubugaga Remix

Every week, the MTV Base Official Naija Top 10 is put together by an elite panel of judges comprising Nigerian broadcasters, music specialists and tastemakers, working with MTV Base to pick the winners and losers in the week’s chart. On the panel are DJ Humility (Rhythm FM), DJ Jimmy Jatt, DJ Xclusive (Cool FM), Big Time (Rhythm FM), DJ Caise (The Beat FM), Toolz (The Beat FM) and Osagie Alonge (Nigerian Entertainment Today).

The MTV Base Official Naija Top 10 premieres on NTA every Friday night at 11:30 PM (WAT), The chart rundown can be seen on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) every Tuesday at 10 PM (WAT), on AIT on Tuesdays at 9.30 pm (WAT), and on STV on Thursdays at 6 pm (WAT). Next week’s chart will be unveiled on Friday 7 March on NTA at 11:30 pm (WAT).

MTV Base on Twitter @MTVBaseAfrica, using the hashtag #OfficialNaijaChart.

The “MTV Base Official Naija Top Ten” is an original MTV Base production.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *