Connect with us


2015 Election: Bukola Saraki Says 17 PDP Senators To Formally Defect To APC



Saraki (Photo Credit: Dailypost)

Saraki (Photo Credit: Dailypost)

Chairman Senate Committee on Ecology and Environment, Dr. Bukola SarakiSunday said 17 senators of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP will this week defect to the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The newly appointed chairman of the ruling People’s Democratic Party,Alhaji Adamu Mu’azu had vowed to reconcile aggrieved members of the party that defected back to its fold but Saraki and 16 others have made up their minds.

With the election timetable made public by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC it seems the Senators that weren’t willing to defect following their resumption are prepared to do so in the coming week.

In an interview with journalists in Ilorin, Kwara State, Saraki stated that the concerned senators had already consulted with their senatorial districts and they had signed the letter and perfected all other strategies for their defection.

Saraki said, “We are going to formally defect. Before we started we were already 19 senators. Then Jigawa pulled out. We have about 17 senators that will defect from PDP to APC. The letter has been signed.”

“I have signed my own. Others have signed theirs. So it is not a matter of probability. It must be and not a matter of months or weeks but a matter of days,” he said.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *