Bello Masari Says APC Governors Are Party Leaders In Their States

By Muhammad Bello

APC Logo
In reaction to the leadership tussle between some ex-PDP governors who defected to the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) and others already in the party, the Deputy Chairman of the APC, Aminu Bello Masari has cleared the air on the issue, saying all the current 16 governors of the party are its leaders in their domains.

Wherever the party does not have governors, Masari said the party has established harmonisation committees, whose members elected their leaders, depending on the strength of the defunct party he (the leader) belonged to, which has now been subsumed by its commitment to the merger arrangement.

Masari was responding to claims by former governors ibrahim Shekarau and Attahiru Bafarawa of Kano and Sokoto States respectively. Both are challenging the legitimacy of their successors in a battle of supremacy. Indeed, in Sokoto Bafarawa had inaugurated a parallel leadership structure in defiance of the one endorsed by the incumbent, Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko and the national leadership of the party.

Leave a Reply