Connect with us


Iheanacho, Alampasu & Salami Included In List For South Africa 2014



Super Eagles of Nigeria coach has called up thirty player for the Third edition of the African Nations Championship designed for the home-based sides of African national teams. The tournament takes place next year in South Africa. The list has three players from the World Cup winning Under-17  team.

The three (3) players are: Goalkeeper Sunday Alampasu, midfielder Kelechi Iheanacho and forward Taiwo Awoniyi.

This is the first time Nigeria is going to the tournament and Stephen Keshi who qualified the team for this tourney is hoping to replicate what he did with his team A earlier this year.

“We are going to the CHAN for the first time but we want to be the best at our very first outing,” he said in Salvador on Thursday morning.

Nigeria is grouped with South Africa, Mali and Mozambique in Group A. The tournament begins on the 11th of January 2014.

Regular Super Eagles Team B faces dominate the list which also has six players on standby.

The full list can be found below:

Goalkeepers: Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers); Daniel Akpeyi (Heartland FC); Isah Danladi (Sharks FC); Sunday Alampasu (Abuja Football College)

Defenders: Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Ebenezer Odunlami (Sunshine Stars); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC); Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars); Bright Esieme (Enyimba FC); Yinka Adedeji (Sharks FC); Reuben Ogbonnaya (El-Kanemi Warriors); Umar Zango (Kano Pillars); Chibuzor Madu (Enugu Rangers)

Midfielders: Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers); Etebo Oghenekaro (Warri Wolves); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Ogonna Osuchukwu (Enugu Rangers); Achiv Douglas (Lobi Stars); Kelechi Iheanacho (Taiye Academy, Owerri); Mohammed Ajia (Bayelsa United); Christian Pyagbara (Sharks FC)

Forwards: Muhammad Gambo (Kano Pillars); Ifeanyi Edeh (Enyimba FC); Barnabas Imenger (Lobi Stars); Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers); Ezekiel Mbah (Akwa United); Obiozor Christian (Enugu Rangers); Abubakar Aliyu (Nasarawa United); Gbolahan Salami (3SC); Taiwo Awoniyi (Imperial Academy, Ilorin)

Standby: Happy Okuoka (Heartland FC); Bello Ikeleji (Insurance FC); Obinna Nwachukwu (Heartland FC); Izuegbu Abonima (Enugu Rangers); Paul Ikenna (Sunshine Stars); John Austin Igenepo

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *