Connect with us


Zamfara Assembly confirms 18 nominees as commissioners [Full List]



The Zamfara House of Assembly has screened and confirmed 18 nominees sent to the state legislature by Governor Dauda Lawal for appointment as commissioners.

This is contained in a statement issued in Gusau on Thursday by the Public Relations Officer of the House, Malam Nasiru Biyabiki.

The Seventh Assembly of the state recently announced receipt of the 18 nominees for confirmation by Lawal.

“The nominees were screened and confirmed at the Assembly’s plenary in Gusau on Thursday.

The confirmed Commissioners include:

  • Sule Adamu
  • Salisu Musa
  • Kabiru Birnin-Magaji
  • Yau Haruna-Bakura
  • Abdurrahman Tumbido
  • Lawali Barau
  • Nasiru Ibrahim
  • Tasiu Musa
  • Mannir Haidara.
  • Capt. Bala Mairiga rtd
  • Abdul’aziz Sani (SAN)
  • Ahmed Yandi
  • Wadatau Madawaki
  • Aisha Anka
  • Bello Auta
  • Abdulmalik Gajam
  • Mahmud Muhammad
  • Dr Nafisa Maradun

Earlier, the Majority Leader of the House, Malam Bello Mazawaje (APC – Tsafe East) moved the motion on the governor’s request for the screening and confirmation of the nominees.

The motion was seconded by the Minority Leader of the House, Malam Aliyu Ango (APC – Talata-Mafara South).

Mazawaje appealed to his colleagues to agree and set aside the House Order XV Rule 6 (6) of its Standing Orders in order to admit the nominees in to the Chamber for the screening.

After the screening, the lawmakers unanimously confirmed the 18 nominees to serve as Commissioners and Members of the State Executive Council.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *