Connect with us


Four months to his exit from office, Governor Ayade reshuffles cabinet, swears in 13 new commissioners



Four months to his exit from office, Cross River State Governor, Ben Ayade, has reshuffled his cabinet, swearing in 13 new commissioners.

The ceremony took place, yesterday, at the Executive Chambers of the Governor’s office in Calabar.

The new commissioners occupied positions left by their former occupants, who left either to vie for elective offices or resigned following the governor’s defection to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The former Commissioner for Tourism and Culture, Mr. Eric Anderson, is now Commissioner for Information and Orientation, a position that was vacant for over two years since the resignation of the former Commissioner, Mr. Asu Okang, who refused to defect to APC.

A Kano State-born Adamu Musa was also appointed as a commissioner for Inter Governmental Affairs.

Other new commissioners and their portfolios are: Mrs Ekwele Agube (Sustainable Development), Prince Sunday Williams Awara (Social Housing), Wogor Umari (Homeland Security), Dr. Hippolytus Lukputa (Water Resources), Patrick Ebam (Special Duties), Okama Inyang (Infrastructure).

The rest are Danet Eyo Nsing (Climate Change), Goddy Eta (Finance), Arikpo Pius Edet (Science and Technology), Ntufam Ekpenyong Effiom Iso (Culture and Tourism), Prof. Gertrude Njar (Women Affairs), Alhaji Adamu Uba Musa( Inter-Governmental Affairs) and Oliver Orok, Commissioner for Sustainable Development now Commissioner for Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Ayade urged the new commissioners to work assiduously to ensure that his administration finished strong.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *