Eight Labour Party Assembly candidates, PCC member defect to APC in Jigawa

Eight Labour Party (LP) state assembly candidates and a northern presidential campaign council member on Friday defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in Jigawa State.

According to a statement by the governor’s media aide, Habibu Kila, the eight candidates are from Auyo, Kirikasamma, Bulangu, Malammadori, Kafin Hausa, Birniwa, Guri and Kaugama constituencies.

Kila said the defectors were received by Governor Muhammad Badaru, at an event in the government house.

The statement reads in part; “Governor Badaru expressed his appreciation to them and promised that they will be carried along in all party activities and urged them to be loyal party members.”

One of the defecting politicians, Muhammad Makinta, from Guri Local Government Area, who spoke on behalf of his colleagues, said they joined the APC after they realized that the party in the state has more prospects.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here