Connect with us


Teams With The Highest Numbers Of Players At The Qatar 2022 World Cup



Some teams will send many players to the FIFA World Cup in Qatar in 2022. These teams will lose numerous players to their national teams just before the halfway point of the domestic season; the football season will be off from mid-November through Boxing Day.

Below is a list of clubs and their players heading to Qatar to represent their respective countries

9. Six teams – 11 players

Premier League’s Tottenham Hotspur, French champions PSG, Serie A’s Juventus, Bundesliga outfit Borussia Dortmund, Dutch giants Ajax and La Liga’s Atletico Madrid will see 11 players head to the 2022 World Cup

8. Al-Hilal – 12 players

Al-Hilal, champions of the Saudi Professional League and the most decorated Asian club ever with 65 official titles, will send 12 players to the 2022 World Cup.

They are the only team on this list whose players will all play for the same national team, Saudi Arabia.

The following Al-Hilal players will compete in the FIFA World Cup in 2022:

  • Mohammed Al-Owais (Saudi Arabia), 
  • Yasser Al-Shahrani (Saudi Arabia), 
  • Ali Al-Bulaihi (Saudi Arabia), 
  • Mohammed Al-Breik (Saudi Arabia), 
  • Saud Abdulhamid (Saudi Arabia), 
  • Salman Al-Faraj (Saudi Arabia), 
  • Mohamed Kanno (Saudi Arabia), 
  • Abdulellah Al-Malki (Saudi Arabia), 
  • Abdullah Otayf (Saudi Arabia), 
  • Nasser Al-Dawsari (Saudi Arabia), 
  • Salem Al-Dawsari (Saudi Arabia), 
  • Saleh Al-Shehri (Saudi Arabia).

7. Chelsea – 13 players

The Premier League side and Champions League winners from just two seasons ago, Chelsea, have 12 players that will join up with their various international squads for the World Cup.

The following Real Madrid players will compete in the FIFA World Cup in 2022:

  • Mason Mount (England), 
  • Conor Gallagher (England), 
  • Raheem Sterling (England), 
  • Eduoard Mendy (Senegal), 
  • Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal), 
  • Christian Pulisic (USA), 
  • Ethan Ampadu (On loan to Spezia — Wales), 
  • Cesar Azpilicueta (Spain), 
  • Kai Havertz (Germany), 
  • Hakim Ziyech (Morocco), 
  • Mateo Kovacic (Croatia), 
  • Thiago Silva (Brazil), 
  • Denis Zakaria (Switzerland).

5. Real Madrid – 13 players

Real Madrid is sending 14 star players to Qatar to represent their respective nations after assembling one of the strongest squads in Europe and winning the player of the year award.

The following Real Madrid players will compete in the FIFA World Cup in 2022:

  • Thibaut Courtois (Belgium)
  • Eder Militao (Brazil)
  • Dani Carvajal (Spain)
  • Antonio Rudiger (Germany)
  • Aurélien Tchouameni (France)
  • Federico Valverde (Uruguay)
  • Luka Modric(Croatia)
  • Vinicius jr (Brazil)
  • Rodrygo (Brazil)
  • Karim Benzema (France)
  • Eden Hazard (Belgium)
  • Marco Asensio (Spain)
  • Eduardo Camavinga (France).

4. Al-Sadd – 15 players

Qatari side Al-Sadd has seen 14 players called up for World Cup duty. Of those players, all but two represent another country.  

The following Al-Sadd players will compete in the FIFA World Cup in 2022:

  • Saad Al Sheeb (Qatar)
  • Meshaal Barsham (Qatar)
  • Pedro Miguel (Qatar)
  • Musaab Khidir (Qatar)
  • Tarek Salman (Qatar)
  • Boualem Khoukhi (Qatar)
  • Abdelkarim Hassan (Qatar)
  • Ali Asad (Qatar)
  • Mohammed Waad (Qatar)
  • Salem Al Hajri (Qatar)
  • Mustafa Meshaal (Qatar)
  • Hassan Al Haydos (Qatar)
  • Akram Afif (Qatar)
  • Andre Ayew (Ghana)
  • Jung Woo-young (South Korea).

4. Manchester City – 16 Players

Since Norway didn’t make it to Qatar for the World Cup this time, Manchester City, one of the best teams in the world, will be without goalscoring machine Haaland. The team will be sending 16 players to the Mundial

The following Manchester City players will compete in the FIFA World Cup in 2022:

  • Manuel Akanji (Switzerland)
  • Ederson (Brazil)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium) 
  • Ilkay Gundogan (Germany)
  • John Stones (England)
  • Kyle Walker (England)
  • Kalvin Phillips (England) 
  • Phil Foden (England)
  • Jack Grealish (all England), 
  • Joao Cancelo (Portugal)
  • Ruben Dias (Portugal)
  • Bernardo Silva (all Portugal)
  • Nathan Ake (Netherlands) 
  • Aymeric Laporte (Spain)
  • Rodri (Spain)
  • Julian Alvarez (Argentina)

3. Manchester United – 16 players

Manchester United made some of the best transfers this year, bringing in one of the biggest names in football and having each of those players compete for their respective nations at the world cup.

The following Manchester United players will compete in the FIFA World Cup in 2022:

  • Antony (Brazil)
  • Casemiro (Brazil)
  • Fred (Brazil)
  • Alex Telles (on loan to Sevilla) (Brazil)
  • Christian Eriksen (Denmark)
  • Raphael Varane (France)
  • Harry Maguire(England)
  • Luke Shaw (England)
  • Marcus Rashford (England)
  • Diogo Dalot (Portugal)
  • Bruno Fernandes (Portugal)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
  • Facundo Pellistri (Uruguay)
  • Tyrell Malacia (Netherlands)
  • Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia)
  • Lisandro Martinez (Argentina).

2. Barcelona – 16 players

Barcelona is sending 16 players to the 2022 World Cup, with six representing Spain.

The following Barcelona players will compete in the FIFA World Cup in 2022:

  • Eric Garcia (Spain)
  • Jordi Alba (Spain)
  • Pedri, Gavi (Spain)
  • Busquets (Spain)
  • Ansu Fati (Spain)
  • Ferran Torres (Spain)
  • Jules Kounde (France)
  • Ousmane Dembélé (France) 
  • Frenkie de Jong (Netherlands)
  • Memphis Depay (Netherlands)
  • Raphinha (Brazil)
  • Ronald Araujo (Uruguay)
  • Ter Stegen (Germany)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Poland).

1. Bayern Munich – 17 players

Bayern Munich is currently having one of its best seasons. The German titans have sent the most players to Qatar to represent their respective countries, with seven representing Germany in the world competition.

The following Bayern Munich players will compete in the FIFA World Cup in 2022:

  • Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Cameroon)
  • Kingsley Coman (France)
  • Matthijs de Ligt (Netherlands)
  • Leon Goretzka (Germany)
  • Serge Gnabry (Germany)
  • Lucas Hernandez (France)
  • Joshua Kimmich (Germany)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal)
  • Noussair Mazraoui (Morocco)
  • Manuel Neuer (Germany)
  • Thomas Müller (Germany)
  • Jamal Musiala (Germany)
  • Benjamin Pavard (France)
  • Leroy Sane (Germany)
  • Josip Stanisic (Croatia)
  • Dayot Upamecano (France)
  • Alphonso Davies (Canada).


The information in this article was curated from online sources. NewsWireNGR or its editorial team cannot independently verify all details.

Follow us on Instagram and Facebook for Live and Entertaining Updates.

Always visit NewsWireNGR for the latest Naija news and updated Naija breaking news.

NewsWireNGRLatest News in Nigeria

Send Us A Press Statement/News Tips on 9ja Happenings: [email protected].

Advertise With Us: [email protected]

Contact Us


Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *