Osun 2022: Why I lost the election — Governor Oyetola

Osun State governor, Gboyega Oyetola, has disclosed why he was defeated by the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ademola Adeleke.

His response was contained in a terse statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Ismail Omipidan, who alleged that the All Progressives Congress (APC) did not win the election because the civil servants fell for the lies, antics and propaganda of the PDP.

Omipidan was reacting to the claim by a member of the House of Representatives, Bamidele Salam, who alleged that the Osun 2022 gubernatorial election is the most monetised in the history of Osun State.

Bamidele, who represents Ede South, Ede North, Egbedore and Ejigbo Federal Constituency in the Green chamber and who was also the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) agent at the Osun guber result declaration, stated that the description was based on the fact that massive vote buying was perpetrated during the voting exercise.

Salam, while appearing on Channels TV programme, The Gavel on Sunday, noted that despite the massive claims of vote buying, the electorates collected the money and still voted according to their conscience.

Salam, who held that the election was a referendum on a sitting government, added that the people issued the Adegboyega Oyetola administration a verdict of failure.

In his words, “The election of 2018 was won by Senator Ademola Adeleke and the electorate decided to reiterate their decision in 2022 by voting for him again.

“There was massive vote buying by the All Progressives Congress (APC) agents, if not, the margin between the results of the PDP and APC would have been higher.

“Election stipulates that the electorate must vote for something better and different.”

He also alleged that Governor Adegboyega Oyetola did not abide by the promises he made in his inaugural address on November 26, 2018.

“He promised to set up nine agro parks in the federal constituencies in the State and he has not done any yet.

“He also promised to rehabilitate the Osogbo-Iwo road which he did not work on,” he stated.

But defending the Osun State governor, Ismail Omipidan, his Chief Press Secretary alleged that the APC did not win the election because the civil servants fell for the lies, antics and propaganda of the PDP.

NewsWireNGR reports that in the election result declared early on Sunday morning by Professor Oluwatoyin Temitayo Ogundipe, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer, Adeleke (PDP) polled 403,371 as against the 375,027 (APC) votes for Governor Adegboyega Oyetola of the APC.

The 13 local government areas won by APC are; Ilesa East, Ayedaade, Boripe, Ifedayo, Ife Central, Boripe, Ola-Oluwa, Iwo, Isokan, Irewole, Atakumosa East and Ife East.

While the 17 local government areas won by PDP are; Boluwaduro, Osogbo, Ila, Atakumosa West, Ifelodun, Ilesa West, Odo-Otin, Obokun, Orolu, Olorunda, Ife North, Irepodun, Oriade, Ede South, Ejigbo, Ede North and Egbedore.

Meanwhile, Oyetola called on his supporters to remain calm, and the people of the state to go about their businesses without let or hindrance.

The governor also called on security operatives to ensure the maintenance of law and order.

Oyetola also directed security operatives to take adequate charge so as to prevent the breakdown of law and order.

%d bloggers like this: