Ademola Adeleke declared winner of Osun governorship election

Ademola Adeleke, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has been declared the winner of the Osun governorship election.

Toyin Ogundipe, returning officer for the state, announced the result of the election on Sunday morning.

Adeleke secured 403, 371 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who polled 375,027 votes.

The PDP candidate won 17 LGAs while the incumbent governor secured victory in 13 LGAs.

Kehinde Atanda of the Action Democratic Party (ADP) placed a distant third with 10,104 votes while Yusuf Lasun of the Labour Party (LP) had 2729 votes…

A total of 15 political parties took part in the election held on Saturday across the 30 local governments of Osun.

Many observers described the election as free of violence but characterised by vote buying.

The two leading candidates had also squared off in the 2018 governorship election in the state which was narrowly won by Governor Oyetola, although in controversial circumstances.

deleke, a former senator, would see his victory in the latest election as a vindication that he was the original winner of the 2018 election.

Adeleke will not, however, be sworn in until November when the tenure of Oyetola is over.

%d bloggers like this: