Connect with us


In one-sided primary,  Sanwo-Olu wins APC governorship ticket



Lagos State Governor, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has won the All Progressives Congress governorship ticket to run in the 2023 election.

Former Commissioner of Energy, Mr Wale Oluwo and former Permanent Secretary from the Ministry of Energy, Mr Mustapha Olorunfemi – were not cleared for the primary.

Sanwo-Olu scored 1170 votes though he was unopposed as the two other candidates who bought forms were not cleared by the party to participate in the primary election.

More than 1,225 delegates were expected to cast their votes in the exercise and 1,198 were accredited. Of those accredited, 1,182 votes were cast with 12 regarded as invalid.

The election was held at Mobolaji Johnson Stadium, Onikan, Lagos and was spearheaded by the Electoral Committee Chairman, Mr Adamu Shettima Yuguda.

Shortly after Yuguda announced Sanwo-Olu winner of the process, the governor thanked all those who made the process the party’s primary success.

He thanked all the party leaders, members and delegates for believing in him and his deputy to be put forward again to contest.

Sanwo-Olu said the decision to put him forward is a promise to do bigger things for Lagos residents and he and his team would not fail but double up their efforts.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *