National Convention: APC reaches consensus on 77 of 78 positions

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has reached a consensus on 77 out of the 78 positions contested in its National Convention, according to reports.

A Unity List endorsed by the governors and other stakeholders of the party emerged yesterday featuring Senator Abdullahi Adamu, for the position of National Chairman and Senator Iyiola Omisore for position of National Secretary.

The Convention was characterised by high wire politics as Senator Ken Nnamani, who was touted to emerge as Deputy National Chairman, South, suddenly dropped out of the ‘Unity List’.

ALSO READ: PHOTOS: APC National Convention Unity List emerges

A former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr. Yakubu Dogara, who was running for the Deputy National Chairman (North), also pulled out of the race.

Meanwhile, six national chairmanship aspirants had earlier stepped down for President Muhammadu Buhari’s preferred candidate for the position, Senator Abdullahi Adamu.

Adamu was endorsed by President Buhari after series of meetings with governors of the ruling party in the lead up to Saturday’s national convention.

Always visit NewsWireNGR for latest naija news and updated naija breaking news.

NewsWireNGR Latest News in Nigeria

Send Us A Press Statement/News Tips on 9ja Happenings: [email protected]

Get Published on NewsWireNGR

Are you a student journalist looking for a platform to sharpen your writing skills and promote your work? Send your campus report to [email protected] with Campus Report as Subject.

Do you have an opinion about a trending issue and/or any other issues in the country, send your opinion articles to [email protected]

Interested in partnership or content collaboration, talk to us: [email protected]

Advertise With Us: [email protected]

Contact Us




Leave a Reply