Omicron: UAE slams travel ban on Nigeria, Kenya, 2 other African countries

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has barred travellers from four African countries over COVID-19 Omicron variant.

This was disclosed in a statement by the UAE’s National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Emergency Management Authority (NCEMA) and the General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) on Thursday.

The directive, UAE said, is due to concerns related to the spread of the omicron COVID-19 variant and will take effect from Saturday, December 25.

ALSO READ: Christmas/New Year: Lagos declares free BRT ride for residents

“The excluded categories should present a negative COVID-19 test obtained within 48 hours of departure and a Rapid-PCR test at the airport within six hours of departure whenever possible and another PCR test at the airport upon arrival to UAE,” the statement reads.

“A 10-day quarantine and a PCR test on the ninth day of entering the country is required for UAE nationals, their first-degree relatives, diplomatic missions and golden residence holders.”

The directive also noted that UAE citizens are barred from travelling to the four African countries except for emergency treatment cases, official delegations, and scholarships.

NewsWireNGR Latest News in Nigeria

Leave a Reply