Federal Government approves only 10 media houses to cover Nnamdi Kanu’s court proceedings

The Federal Government through the Department of State Services (DSS) and Federal High Court, Abuja has reportedly accredited only 10 media houses and journalists to cover court proceedings of the trial of the leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB), Nnamdi Kanu slated for Monday, July 26, 2021. 

A document seen by NewsWireNGR and dated July 23, 2021 lists the 10 media organisations and journalists accredited for the coverage of the trial. The document was signed by Catherine Oby Christopher, Chief Information Officer, Federal High Court of Nigeria. 

Those accredited include Daily Independent (Paschal Njoku), Premium Times (Ameh Ejekwonyilo), Thisday (Alex Enumah), The Nation (Eric Ikhilae), The Herald (Kayode Lawal), and the News Agency of Nigeria (Taiye Agbaje). 

For broadcast media, listed are the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA-Vera Chiwuba), Channels Television (Ella Daniels), Africa Independent Television (Wunmi Obabori), and TVC (Tina Iria). 

The memo titled ‘Media Accreditation For Nnamdi Kanu’s Trial’ says “Find below the journalists that will be allowed entrance to the court’s premises for the above-mentioned trial.” 

The four broadcasting stations are allowed one cameraman each.  

Kanu, who have dual citizenship from ‘Nigerian and British’, is facing an 11-count charge of treason, treasonable felony, terrorism and illegal possession of firearms, among others, jumped bail in 2017 and left the country. 

The former London estate agent disappeared in 2017 after being released on bail, only to re-emerge in Israel and then in the United Kingdom. 

Kanu was extradited to Nigeria on Sunday, June 27 to face trial as announced by the Attorney-General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami. 

He was re-arraigned before a Federal High Court in Abuja on Tuesday, June 29 and ordered to be remanded in the custody of the DSS, while the case was adjourned till July 26 and July 27.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *