Following Matawalle’s lead, Two Zamfara senators decamp from PDP to APC

Estimated Reading Time: 1

Two senators from Zamfara State, Sahabi Alhaji Yau (Zamfara North), Hassan Mohammed Gusau (Zamfara Central), Lawali Hassan Anka (Zamfara West) have on Wednesday defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The two senators disclosed their defection to the ruling APC in separate letters read by Senate President Ahmad Lawan on the floor of the upper legislative chamber on Wednesday.

Their defection comes less than 24 hours after Bello Matawalle, Zamfara governor, formally joined the ruling party on Tuesday.

Both senators cited crisis and collapse of party democracy for their cross-carpeting.

“Being a representative of my people and having consulted widely with them, I have decided to defect from the crisis-ridden party to a more formidable and peaceful party,” Yau said in his notice to the senate.

Anka’s letter read: “I wish to inform you of my decision to move from the PDP to the APC.

“The decision is necessitated by the crisis of the state chapter of the PDP that has negatively affected representation of our constituents.”

The formal defection of Peter Nwaoboshi, senator representing Delta north, was also announced.

“I write to notify you that I have formally joined the APC,” Nwaoboshi said.

“The PDP in its entirety is imploding under huge intolerance, tyranny and gross failure of leadership in ways that are impossible for normalcy to continue in the party.”

Their defection comes barely 24 hours when the Zamfara State Governor, Bello Matawalle decamped from the PDP to the APC.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *