Connect with us

Press Releases

Buhari marks International Women’s day by unveiling a list of female appointees



President Muhammadu Buhari has presented the of 32 female government officials which it described as “The Buhari Women” to mark this year’s International Women’s Day.

Spokesperson for the president, Femi Adesina disclosed this in a statement titled “International Women’s Day: See how President Buhari celebrates Nigerian women” on Sunday.

This unveiling ahead of International Women’s Day on March 8, is to prove that the administration of Buhari is women-inclusive.

The statement read in part, “March 8 of every year is observed globally as International Women’s Day. Theme for 2021 is Choose to Challenge.

“The celebration provides ample opportunity to reflect on how President Muhammadu Buhari honours the womenfolk.

“Here is a checklist of ‘The Buhari Women,’ just few of them.”

They are Zainab Ahmed -Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning; Sadiya Farouq- Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development , Pauline Tallen- Minister of Women Affairs; Mariam Katagum-Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment; Sharon Ikeazor- Minister of State for Environment; Gbemisola Saraki – Minister of State for Transportation; and Ramatu Aliyu- Minister of State for the Federal Capital Territory.

Others on the list are Folashade Yemi-Esan-Head of the Civil Service of the Federation; Mariam Uwais-Special Adviser to the President; Jumoke Oduwole-Special Adviser to the President on Industry, Trade and Investment, and Secretary of the Presidential Enabling Business Environment Council; Mojisola Adeyeye -Director-General, National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control; Hadiza Bala-Usman, Managing Director, Nigerian Ports Authority; Abike Dabiri-Erewa- Chairman, Nigerians in Diaspora Commission; Chioma Ejikeme-Executive Secretary, Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate; Patience Oniha -Director-General, Debt Management Office; and Aisha Dahir-Umar -Director-General, National Pension Commission.

Others on the list are Jummai Audi-Chairperson, Nigerian Law Reform Commission; Yewande Sadiku -Executive Secretary, Nigerian Investment Promotion Commission; Gloria Akobundu- National Coordinator/Chief Executive of New Partnership for Africa’s Development, Nigeria; Nnenna Akajemeli -National Coordinator/CEO, SERVICOM; Folashade Joseph -Managing Director, Nigeria Agriculture Insurance Corporation; Cecilia Gaya -Director-General, Administrative Staff College of Nigeria; Ronke Sokefun -Chairperson, Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation; and Aishah Ahmad -Deputy Governor, Financial System Stability, Central Bank of Nigeria.

The list also include Stella Ojekwe-Onyejeli-Executive Director/Chief Operating Officer, Nigeria Sovereign Investment Authority; Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire- Senior Special Assistant to the President on Sustainable Development Goals; Oge Modie,-Senior Special Assistant to the President on Strategic Communications; Toyin Adeniji- Executive Director, Micro Enterprises, Bank of Industry (Oversees the Government Enterprise and Empowerment Programme); Stella Okotete- Executive Director, Business Development, NEXIM Bank; Omolola Abiola-Edewor, Executive Director, Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation; imaan Sulaiman–Ibrahim, Director-General, National Agency for Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons; and Lauretta Onochie, Personal Assistant to the President on Social Media, and INEC Federal Commissioner-nominee.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *