Breaking News

Breaking: INEC de-registers 74 Political Parties leaving only 18 recognised registered parties

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has de-registered over 70 political parties in the country.

Prior to this exercise, there were 91 political parties in Nigeria. The de-registration by INEC is based on the 2019 electoral performance during the elections.

The Chairman of the commission made the announcement Thursday during a press conference holding at the headquarters of the commission in Maitama Abuja.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed September 19 and October 10, 2020, as dates for Edo and Ondo States governorship elections, respectively.

The national chairman of the Commission, Professor Mahmoud Yakubu, made the disclosure at a press briefing on Thursday in Abuja.

With the development, Nigeria now has 18 political parties ahead next general elections.

Professor Yakubu said the 74 parties did not meet the requirements for their continued existence as political parties.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *