Connect with us


Here’s Why The US Govt Warns Against Traveling To The 20 Nigerian States



The US says Nigerian military has limited power to deal with offensives from the sea The United States of America has banned its citizens from visiting 20 Nigerian states because of insecurity.

The states which are now no-go areas to American citizens are Adamawa, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Borno, Delta, Edo, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Niger, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Yobe and Zamfara. It recommended only essential travel to the states.

According to the latest new travel warning to replace an earlier one dated February 5, 2016, the Department of State said it is placing alerts on these places because of “risk of kidnappings, robberies, and other armed attacks”.

The statement read: “Security measures in Nigeria remain heightened due to threats posed by extremist groups, and U.S. citizens may encounter police and military checkpoints, additional security, and possible road blocks throughout the country.

“Hundreds of thousands of Nigerians have been displaced as a result of violence in the north.”


Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *