APC’s Timipre Sylva Loses As Tribunal Upholds Seriake Dickson’s Election As Bayelsa Governor

The Bayelsa State governorship election tribunal has upheld the election of Mr. Seriake Dickson as governor.

In its ruling on the petition filed by the APC and its governorship candidate, Mr. Timipre Sylva, the tribunal held that the supplementary election that took place on January 9, 2016, was proper and valid.

Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC) had challenged the victory of Dickson after losing the governorship election last year.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Dickson, winner of the election, announcing that he polled 134,998 votes to defeat Sylva, a former governor of the state, who scored 86,852 votes to place second.

Sylva had asked the tribunal to declare him the duly elected as governor, after tendering the evidence of a video showing electoral malpractice allegedly perpetrated by the Dickson and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

After the judgement, Felix Okoroti, counsel to Sylva, told journalists that he would discuss with his client on the next line of action.

On his part, counsel to Dickson, Aliu Umar praised the tribunal for its judgement on the matter.


Leave a Reply