APC Condemns Saraki, Dogara, Says It Stands On Its List

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has condemned what transpired in both chambers of the National Assembly on Thursday in Abuja.

In a statement issued by the party’s National Secretary, Alhaji Mai Mala Buni, APC said the party stood by the lists sent to the Senate President and the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

It would be recalled that the party had sent letters to both chambers conveying names of its candidates for the principal offices of both chambers while a faction of the lawmakers favour choosing the leaders from the zones.

The offices are that of the Senate Leader, Deputy a Senate Leader, House Leader, Deputy House Leader, Chief Whip and Deputy Chief Whip among others.

“The National Caucus, Board of Trustees and National Executive Council of the party will meet within the next few days to discuss the evolving developments in the National Assembly,” it said.

Disregarding the party’s letter, Senate President, Bukola Saraki during plenary on Thursday named Senator Ali Ndume as Senate Leader and Bala Ibn Na’Allah as Senate Deputy Leader.

The announcements of the new officers will further widen the gulf between Saraki and the leadership of All Progressives Congress.
In a letter by Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, national chairman of APC to Saraki, he said: “Please find below for your necessary action names of principal officers approved by the party, after excessive consultations for the 8th Senate as follows: Senator Ahmed Lawan (Majority Leader)–North-East; Prof. Sola Adeyeye (Chief Whip)–South-West; Sen. George Akume (Deputy Majority Leader)—North-Central; and Sen. Abu Ibrahim(Deputy Chief Whip)—North-West.”

Similarly, House of Representatives Speaker, Yakubu Dogara announced the holiday, after the rowdy session that saw his camp fighting with house members loyal to the wishes of All Progressives Congress, on whose platform they were elected.

Leave a Reply