Connect with us


Ebonyi Assembly Declares War On Governor Elechi, Dissolves LGA Caretaker Chairmen



Ebonyi House of Assembly declares war on Elechi, dissolves 13 LGA’S Caretaker Committee Chairmen, 28 Coordinators.

The Ebonyi State House of Assembly yesterday dissolved the 13 newly appointed Local Government Caretaker Committee and the 28 Development Center Coordinators appointed by the State Governor, Chief Martin Elechi after a Federal High Court sitting in Abakaliki had the sacked the elected Council Chairmen.

The House of Assembly also during its plenary attended by 18 out of the 24 members of the House also dissolved the Chairmen of boards and parastatal appointed by the State Governor and directed Governor Elechi to submit to the House the total allocation and the internally generated revenue received by the State Government between January 2014 till date.

Moving a motion for the dissolution of the Caretaker Committee Chairmen, the Coordinators and the Board Chairmen, the member representing Onicha East constituency Hon Odefa Obasi Odefa argued that the State Governor did not consult the House before the appointment of the Chairmen adding that the action of the Governor amounts to breach of the constitution.

Hon Odefa while moving the motion urged the Economic and Financial Crime Commission, EFCC, the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences, ICPC and other graft agencies in the country to ensure the recovery of all government money looted by the Chairmen, the Boards and the Coordinators. He also urged the State Commissioner for Police, Mr. Miagari Dikko to immediately order his men to takeover and recover all government properties in the possession of the Chairmen.

Seconding the motion, the member representing Izzi West Constituency, Hon Ogbonnaya Nwifuru urged the members of the House to support the motion noting that such action undermines the position, duties and functions of the legislature.

The motion directing the Governor to submit to the House all revenue accrued to the state between 1st January 2014 till date was moved by the member Representing, Ohaukwu South Constituency, Hon Frank Onwe and seconded by Hon Ogbonnaya Nwifuru.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *