Enyeama fails To Clinch BBC African Footballer Of The Year Award

The winner of the 2014 BBC African footballer of the year award has been announced and unfortunately for soccer-loving Nigerians, it is not Vincent Enyeama.

Yacine Brahimi who plies his trade for Porto has been announced winner and becomes the first ever Algerian to win the award this will come as a shock to many soccer lovers in the continent. Nigerian goalkeeper, Vincent Enyeama; Ivorian midfielder, Yaya Toure; and Gabonese forward, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang were the other players in contention for the award.

The only Nigerian who has previously won the BBC award is Austin ‘Jay Jay’ Okocha. All hope is not lost however for Nigerian fans as their skipper, Vincent Enyeama is also a nominee for the CAF African footballer of the year award.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *