All 21 Adamawa Council Chairmen Defect To PDP

All 21 Local government Council Chairmen and development area administrators in Adamawa State are returning back to the People Democratic Party (PDP), following impeachment of former governor, Murtala Nyako.

The Chairmen who joined the former state governor, Nyako in declaring for the All Progressives Congress and registered are now moving back to the ruling party in the state in accordance with Fintiri’s leadership.

Sources in the state say Adamawa State Acting governor, Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri spent most part of the Thursday, holding discussion with the 21 local government chairmen and 50 Development area administrators.

The Chief Press Secretary to the Acting Governor, Solomon Kumangar said the council chairmen are willing to defect from the APC to the PDP, adding that preparations are being made to receive them.

Murtala Nyako had been removed from office Tuesday afternoon after the House considered the report of a 7-man panel constituted to investigate charges of financial impropriety against him and his deputy, Bala Ngilari.

The Deputy Governor however turned in his resignation just before the impeachment. His resignation was read at the plenary session of the Adamawa State House of Assembly by the Speaker, Umaru Fintiri and it was subsequently approved by the House.


Leave a Reply