National Conference Recommends Creation Of 19 New States Of The Federation

Estimated Reading Time: <1

National Confab proposes creation of 19 more states, rejects proposal to revert to parliamentary system of government according to the News Agency of Nigeria.

More details of the resolution to be published, but a member of the conference, Mike Ozekhome had yesterday requested an additional one state given to the South East geo-political zone.

The Senior Advocate of Nigeria made his submission while disagreeing with a delegate representing Federal Government and Environmental activist, Ledum Mitee who opposed the state, Ozekhome said that he supported the additional state as it will integrate the zone into the system.

He also lend his support to the Committee’s recommendation for states to serve as federating units, stressing that there is need for states to have their own constitution to reflect their peculiarities.

Nigeria currently has 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory Abuja. Analyst believe the existing states in the country are not self sufficient as most over 90% of the states depend on Federal allocations for survival. If the recommendation by the conference delegates is adopted, Nigeria will then have 55 states of the federation.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *