Connect with us


4 APC Lawmakers Defect To PDP In Edo




Some All Progressives Congress (APC) chieftains, including four House of Assembly members, on Monday defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). ?

The lawmakers are: Patrick Osayimwen, Oredo East; Friday Ogierhiakhi, Orhionmwon South; Jude Idehen, Ikpoba-okha; and Rasaq Momoh, Etsako Constituency 1.

Other chieftains are: Mr Osagie Ize-Iyamu, a former vice chairman of defunct ACN in the South-South zone; Mr Tony Omoaghe, ACN former state chairman, and his vice, Alhaji Usman Shagadi. ?

The defectors included Mr Osaretin Edosanwan, a former speaker of Edo House of Assembly and Isaiah Osifoh, a former Chief of Staff to former Gov. Oserheimen Osunbor.

The other leaders are Chief Amos Osunbor, Mr Nosa Adams, Mr Bright Omokhodion, Osaretin Ogbewie, and several others.

The event took place on Monday at Best Western Hotels, Benin City, following a motion moved by Chief Godwin Ehieshie and seconded by Osifoh.

Ize-Iyamu, who spoke at the occasion, said the action was a demonstration to those in authority in the state that ‘no man is God’.

He alleged that the ruling party in the state had hijacked the party they laboured hard to build and handed over to them.

?He said the defectors were determined to ensure positive change in the lives of Edo people and true democracy where there was freedom of speech, equity, justice and fair play.

?In his speech, Omoaghe, who convened the meeting, said their decision to dump the APC for the PDP was due to the `anti-democratic’ posture of APC-led government of Adams Oshiomhole.

?Omoaghe said: “the APC has been hijacked by a cabal who do not believe in free democratic participation.

“Common sense dictates that having left the hostile environment of the APC in Edo the only logical option is to join the PDP since the two major parties in the country are the PDP and APC.’’

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *