Connect with us


And The Winner Is… Check Out Complete List Of AMVCA 2014 Winners



The Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards 2014 (AMVCA) went down successfully last night at the Expo Centre of Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos. The big shots in the African movie industry were present as captains of industries also graced the occasion.

Awards were given to deserving filmmakers, actors, actresses, makeup artistes, video and audio editors, cinematographers and other movie professionals at the 2014 AMVCA.

The movie, Nairobi Half Life was one one of the big winners on the night. A movie directed by Shirley Frimpong-Manso, The Contract was adjudged to be the best African movie for the year in review.

Below are the full list of winners:

-Best Movie of 2013 – The Contract

-Best Actress in a Drama AwardTope Tedela for A Mile From Home

-Best Actress in a Drama Award – Nse Ikpe-Etim for Journey To Self

– Industry Merit Award – Peter Edochie

-Best Movie Drama goes – Frank Rajah Arase for The Price

-Best actor in a comedy award Elvis Chucks

-New era award – Rita Dominic for The Meeting

-Trailblazer ward – Michelle Bello

-Best supporting actor in a Drama – Desmond Elliot for Finding Mercy

-Best supporting actress in a Drama – Bikiya Graham-Douglas for Flower Girl

-Best Director – Shirley Frimpong-Manso (Contract)

-Best Actor in a Comedy – Osita Iheme – (The Hero)

-Best Online Video – Amarachukwu Onoh – (Mother Tongue)

-Best Short Film award – Walter ‘Waltbanger’ Taylaur – (The Wages)

Best Documentary award – Dr Gilbert Chigbo – (The Deadwood)

-Best Indigenous Language (Hausa) – Abba Muko Yakassai

-Best indigenous language Yoruba award – Mercy Aigbe

-Best indigenous language Swahili award – Njoki Muhoho (Mama Duka)

-Best Television Series (Comedy/Drama) award – Fred Phiri (Love Games Episode 6)

-Best video editor – Shirley Frimpong-Manso – (Contract)

-Best sound editor – Obi Emelonye and Luke Corradine  (Last Flight to Abuja)

-Best Cinematographer – Christian Almesberger  (Nairobi Half Life)

-Best Writer in a Comedy award – Jigi Bello (Flower Girl)

-Best Lighting Designer – Mohamed Zain (Nairobi Half Life)

-Best Writer in a Drama – Shirley Frimpong-Manso & Hertey Owusu  (Contract)

-Best Make-Up Artiste Award – Elayne Okaya (Nairobi Half Life)

-Best Costume Designer – Chiemela Nwagboso (The Kingdom)

-Best Art Director – Barbara Minishi (Nairobi Half Life)

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *