Tag: Election Petition Tribunal

Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello secured victory at Election Petition Tribunal

The Kogi State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Abuja has dismissed the petition filed by Natasha Akpoti, the candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and her party against Governor Yahaya Bello. A three-man panel of judges led by Justice Kashim Kaigama dismissed the suit in a unanimous judgment[Read More…]

Kogi Governor Bello Wins Again as Tribunal Says Wada Lacks Legal Right

The governor of Kogi, Yahaya Bello has recorded another victory at the Kogi State Governorship Election Petitions Tribunal sitting in Abuja. The Justice Hamima Mohammed-led tribunal, Tuesday, ruled that the Peoples Democratic Party’s candidate in the November 21 and December , 2015 governorship election ?in the state, Idris Wada, lacked[Read More…]

Kogi Governor Yahaya Bello Dedicates Victory At The Tribunal To Kogi People

Kogi State Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello has hailed the judgement of the Election Petitions Tribunal sitting in Abuja, which in a unanimous decision today, upheld his victory at the poll. He said the decision of the Bench Lords has further justified his election as the Governor of Kogi State, saying[Read More…]

Just In: Tribunal Dismisses James Faleke’s Petition Against Kogi Governor Yahaya Bello

The Kogi State governorship election tribunal, sitting in Abuja, has upheld the election of Governor Yahaya Bello as the duly elected governor of Kogi State. The Chairman of the Tribunal, Halima Mohammed, who read the judgment in the petition filed by a member of the House of Representatives, James Faleke,[Read More…]

Kogi Election Petitions Tribunal Relocated To Abuja

The election petitions Tribunal, set us to entertain complaints arising from the Kogi state governorship poll, has been relocated to Abuja for further sittings on the order of the President of Court of Appeal, Justice Zainab Bulkashua. Prior to its relocation, the tribunal made up of Justice Halima Mohammed (Chairperson),[Read More…]

Abdul Mahmud: Making Sense Of The Judgment Of The Taraba State Governorship Election Tribunal

– By Abdul Mahmud The judgment of the Taraba State Governorship Election Tribunal delivered yesterday is raising dust in Nigeria’s political circle and as expected many commentators, particularly those with partisan interests and many others, still, who have their party political and ethnic monocle on and who view law and[Read More…]

Buhari Did Not Influence Taraba Election Verdict – APC Tells PDP

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has stated that President Muhammadu Buhari of Nigeria did not influence Saturday’s judgement of the Taraba State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal in which the Peoples Democratic Party governor, Darius Ishaku was ousted from office and APC governorship candidate, Aisha Alhassan was declared the rightful winner.[Read More…]

APC Hails Nigerian Supreme Court As Wike Loses Appeal On Jurisdiction

The Rivers State Chapter of All Progressives Congress, APC, has lauded the Nigerian Supreme Court on its decision to throw out the bid by Wike to declare the sitting of the Rivers State Election Petition Tribunal in Abuja as being against the law. The apex court ruled that the President[Read More…]

Senator Magnus Abe Says The Nullification Of Rivers Elections “Vindicates The Judiciary”

Sen. Magnus Abe, former member of the National Assembly, said on Saturday that the nullification of the governorship election in the state by the tribunal was a vindication of the judiciary. Abe, (APC—Rivers South West), told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Port Harcourt that the APC had insisted[Read More…]

“Wike Is Still The Executive Governor Of Rivers State” – PDP Insists After Tribunal Nullification

Press Releases The Rivers State Chapter of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, has reassured the Rivers people and its supporters across the State that notwithstanding the compromised ruling of the election petitions tribunal, nullifying the State Governorship election and ordering for fresh election in the State, Chief Barr. Nyesom Wike[Read More…]